Ethics for Psychics


Over the next few weeks, besides musings and other spirit communication information, I’ve decided to share some excerpts of my new book, Psychic Integrity, Ethics and Morals of Modern-Day Mystics here in the blog. I figured it would be the best way at the moment to give you a good look at the book and know what it is about.

You can read the Introduction to the book in the complimentary website: http://www.PsychicIntegrity.com . Take a look at Chapter 1, Basic Ethical Principles:

What are Ethics?

The concept of ethics is generally described as professional standards of conduct; uprightness and honor: being fair. Ethics are derived from social commonalities. They come as a result of what is deemed as usual or “the customary response”.

Many psychic readers think of ethical behavior as something such as: I will charge you a fair price; I will not share your information with anyone; I will refer you to a professional who may assist you, such as lawyer, financial expert or psychologist.

I feel ethics start (or should start) many years before the person begins working with clients as a reader. Much of it comes as part of your upbringing and the way your parents or families teach you about life and respect. It has to do with your integrity.

The integrity needed for psychic readers comes as they are learning to use their psychic gifts. Many are born with these gifts, but may not instantly know how to relate the information to the client. They may not know about the higher and lower levels of entities sending the information.

It could very well be coming from a low vibration wanting to trick them or just play around. So discernment of sources is very important.

This all comes with study, practice under mentorship, and trial and error.

Ethical Statements

Many psychics consider offering advice or dealing with information of a personal nature as a business, and have a code of ethics to govern that business or protect themselves and the interest of their clients.

This would, of course include the professional psychic. The code of ethics is something felt as being important to make known to the general public.                                               

I’ve researched many materials of psychic readers and psychic organizations and have come up with a composite of ethical statements they have listed.

Below is a sample of what many professional psychics make available to their clients:

I Promise to—

  • Treat all my clients with respect regardless of origin, race, religion, gender, age or sexual preference.
  • Keep confidential the names of clients and information shared or discussed during readings.
  • Recommend consultation with a licensed professional for advice of a legal, financial, medical or psychological nature I am not qualified to provide.

These are statements I agree with. They are definitely necessary for anyone in business on a personal level. I want to take it a step further.

Integrity is what should be defining ethical behavior. The issue is not how you work with the general public.

It is how you live your life, how you are trained, how you learn, how you practice your abilities: being the best you can be for your client.

Many readers also state their readings are for entertainment purposes only. Although many of the readings I do are humorous and light hearted, I do not consider them entertainment. This gives the feel of a three-ring circus.

Psychic work is a much higher calling than entertainment. I take it very seriously, and intend it to be of value to my client. It should be an aid in looking to the future, in decision-making and understanding past or present circumstances.

I understand some psychics use the words “for entertainment purposes” to protect themselves from the general public who may unscrupulously accuse them of deceit or fortune-telling. For those psychics I suggest they pursue a counselor’s license or minister’s license.

Pursuing further education would fully complete their dedication to assisting other’s with their life problems. It would be the most logical direction for anyone who works with the public in a caring and dedicated manner. Each person is encouraged to look into his/her local and state government laws for guidance in this area.

~~~~~~~

Look for the next installment of excerpts for Psychic Integrity. I’ll be posting it soon.

Let me know what you think. Take a second and add a comment at the bottom of this post. Your feed back is very imoprtant to me.

3 thoughts on “Ethics for Psychics

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. Thanks for stopping by Madonna! This article is mine and the blog is mine. Not sure who your cousin is, but happy he recommended it to you. Please enjoy all the articles you can find. They are along the side bar. Blessings…Melissa Leath

Leave a Reply

