Comment of the Day: “‘Who Ya Gonna Call?’” Paranormal Ethics, and the Irony of Same”


See on Scoop.itEnlightening Spirits and Psychic Exploration Salon

This is an interesting response to my post on Skeptic Alarms Blog a few months ago.

Fellow blogger, Jack Marshall, ethicist and lawyer, had been discussing Ghostbusting and hauntings as being untrue, and I chimed in with my typical information about integrity, especially in regards to those who are ghostbusters and dealing with the earthbounds spirits.

 

In his response to the original post, he was very happy to hear from me, and the other side of the coin, so to speak. He saw that not all psychic mediums appeared to be frauds, and it was refreshing to him.

 

He actually stood back to survey his opinion of the matter, and I appreciated that.

 

So he posted another blog article a few weeks later (that I did not know about at the time) addressing the fact that because I had shared my thoughts, it gave him pause to reconsider his skepticism.

 

His article was refreshing to me to see that a skeptic would at least reconsider this thoughts. But some of the other responses from this readership were less polite about it. I guess there are hard core skepics just as in any field.

 

One person even invited me to take James Randi’s Educational Foundations Million Dollar Challenge to prove I am a psychic. Wow… what do you think? Should I do it?

 

Naw… I don’t have to prove anything to anyone. And I am not trying to persuade anyone about my “powers”. That had nothing to do with the post and article I am referencing. I know who I am. That’s all that is important to me.

 

Check out his blog at   http://ethicsalarms.com/2012/02/13/comment-of-the-day-who-ya-gonna-call-paranormal-ethics-and-the-irony-of-same/ and see what you think. Add some comments if you are so inspired! I know Mr. Marshall will enjoy hearing from you.

 

“Paranormal phenomena is nonsense, and thus ethical standards for it are an oxymoron. Unless, of course, I’m wrong.”

 

 

Blessings until next time! …M

http://www.MelissaLeath.com

 

See on ethicsalarms.com

2 thoughts on “Comment of the Day: “‘Who Ya Gonna Call?’” Paranormal Ethics, and the Irony of Same”

  1. The problem, as I see it, is that there are traumatized, grieving individuals with a need to reach out to the other side of the veil and there are individuals making the claim that they can make it happen while making a very healthy living. The disconnect, for me, is that grief-stricken people will do anything to ease their pain. There is so little in the way of an “ethics check” available to those of us in that position. We are sitting ducks for the wrong people. It has been made especially difficult in recent years as the grief industry has embraced a whole new level of hypnotic-style strategies when “counseling” the grieving. Many people think that if it makes you feel better, where’s the harm in it? I, for one, am not interested in being manipulated in any way and certainly not when I’m in the vulnerable and unenviable state of grief. This becomes complicated with the plethora of entertainment-style psychic mediums that seem to fill the television airwaves. It’s all become rather unseemly and it’s hard to find genuine people asking genuine questions with a genuine interest in understanding the paranormal.

    1. Kim, you just hit the nail on the head! I agree completely with you. In fact, in my practice, I advise those who have lost a loved one recently to wait at least three to four months into their journey before looking for a medium. (and even then, depending on the person, it is probably too soon) We will believe what we want to believe, and that sense is heightened during early greiving. Of course, it is only natural to want to find peace, and know our loved one is alright. But it is important to walk through the process, painful as it is.

      The only option as I see it is to educate the public before hand. I have done what I can, and by writing my book Psychic Integrity, it helps the public know what is real and what is faked. Now, I have to keep spreading the word that there really are loving, compassionate psychic mediums who wish to be of service.

      Thanks so much for your comment. Conversation on this subject is important.

Leave a Reply

